Above and Beyond

Written by City & State on . Posted in Events.

Please join City & State to celebrate our 25 Above & Beyond honorees at a cocktail and dinner reception Wednesday, March 13th at Léman Manhattan‘s Broad Street Ballroom, located at 41 Broad St., New York, NY 10004 in downtown Manhattan.

View the 25 honorees

At the reception, City & State will announce which of the 25 honorees will receive the 2013 Chairperson’s Award, for which we will be donating a portion of the event proceeds to a charity of their choice.

Please reserve your tickets or tables below, and stay tuned for additional program announcements. For further information on programming or sponsorship, please contact Jasmin Freeman at 646-442-1662 or jfreeman@cityandstateny.com.

Special Guest Hosts:

John Avlon
John Avlon
Senior columnist for Newsweek and the Daily Beast, CNN contributor
John Avlon
Margaret Hoover
Author & CNN Contributor

6:00 – 7:00pm – Cocktails and Hors d’oeuvres
6:45pm – Welcoming Remarks
7:15 – 8:15pm – Dinner & Awards Ceremony
8:15pm – Chairperson’s Award Announcement

Thanks to Our Supporters:

JP Morgan Chase Pfizer AECOM
Business Council 32BJ SEIU Leman Manhattan

Individual Ticket
Table of 10

Announcing the 2013 Honorees

Business Leadership:

Claudia Wagner – Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP
Heather Briccetti – President and CEO, The Business Council of New York State, Inc.
Jill Lerner – President, American Institute of Architects New York
Karen Persichilli Keogh – Managing Director for State and Local Government Affairs Nationally, JP Morgan Chase
Taryn Duffy – Director of Public Affairs, Empire City Casino at Yonkers Raceway

Public Service:

Dr. Joyce F. Brown – President, Fashion Institute of Technology (SUNY)
Mitra Hormozi – Chair, Joint Commission of Public Ethics
Helena E. Williams – President, The Long Island Rail Road
Kay Woods Ellis – Assistant Commissioner, Fire Department, City of New York
Lilliam Barrios-Paoli – Commissioner, DFTA


Susan Arbetter – WCNY
Diana Williams – WABC
Maggie Haberman – POLITICO
Margaret Sullivan – The New York Times
Rosanna Rosado – El Diario de la Prensa

Nonprofit Leadership:

Dr. Judith Rodin – President, The Rockefeller Foundation
Erica Hamilton – Vice President and Executive Director, City Year New York
Angelica Tang – Executive Director, Committee of 100
Mary McCormick – President, Fund for the City of New York
Sheena Wright – President and CEO, United Way of New York City

Labor & Advocacy:

Maria Neira – Vice President, New York State United Teacher
Sara Horowitz – Founder and President, Freelancer’s Union
Shirley Aldebol – Vice President, 32BJ of the Service Employees International Union
Mary Sullivan – Executive Vice President, CSEA
Suzy Ballantyne – Executive Assistant to the President, New York State AFL-CIO

(Click here to view the 2012 honorees.)

Facebook Twitter Email

Comments (1)

  • 1spresidente


    You give awards for advocacy and stay away from bike lanes. Good move.


Leave a comment